Study in Sri Lanka.
The essentials, in one place.
Use this snapshot to decide whether Sri Lanka fits your academic goals and resources. Requirements can differ by qualification, institution and application route.
| Tuition | US$3,000 - 15,000 a year (UGC fee table) |
|---|---|
| Financial evidence | Parent bank letters = 1 year's course fee, held 3 months |
| Language requirements | IELTS 6.5 / TOEFL 79 if not English-medium |
| Visa route | Entry visa approved in advance; no tourist-visa switch |
From shortlist to application.
For state-university foreign-qualified admission, follow the UGC handbook’s application and submission instructions. Self-funded routes require the institution’s own admission and entry-visa process.
State places for foreign-qualified applicants are limited. Confirm how UGC treats your FSc or other qualification before paying a processing charge, and do not assume a tourist entry can become student residence.
- Identify programmes that accept your qualification. Ask admissions about equivalence if your Pakistani award is not clearly listed.
- Read the individual course requirements and deadline. Confirm language evidence, prerequisites and any selection test.
- Prepare your academic records, references and personal statement. Follow the institution’s instructions for certified documents.
- Submit through the university or its designated national portal. Keep your account, receipts and application number.
- After an offer, check the student visa procedure for applicants residing in Pakistan and prepare the required financial evidence.
Explore support for your studies.
Compare the award’s eligibility, coverage and application route. Admission and scholarship applications may have different deadlines.
Work while you study.
| Bachelor's | Not permitted Not stated as allowed; a residence visa holder must not do any activity other than the visa condition |
|---|---|
| Master's | Not permitted Not stated as allowed; a residence visa holder must not do any activity other than the visa condition |
| PhD | Not permitted Not stated as allowed; a residence visa holder must not do any activity other than the visa condition |
No student work right is stated; the residence visa covers study only
After your qualification
No post-study work route is described on the official pages; check with the Department of Immigration and Emigration
Explore family and post-study pathways ↗Your preparation checklist.
Track the essentials here, then reconcile this list with the exact university and embassy checklist.
Go directly to the source.
These authority and institution links accompany the reference dataset. They are your starting point for checking the latest rules.
- UGC Admission of Students with Foreign Qualifications 2025/2026 ↗https://ugc.ac.lk/downloads/Foreign_HB_2025-2026.pdf
- UGC Student Handbook 2025/26 ↗https://www.ugc.ac.lk/downloads/admissions/Handbook_2025_26/student_handbook_english.pdf
- Department of Immigration and Emigration, Residence Visa (education) ↗https://www.immigration.gov.lk/pages_e.php?id=18
- Department of Immigration and Emigration, visa fees ↗https://www.immigration.gov.lk/pages_e.php?id=45
- Department of Immigration and Emigration, visa conditions ↗https://www.immigration.gov.lk/pages_e.php?id=14
- Sri Lanka Qualifications Framework 2016 ↗https://www.ugc.ac.lk/attachments/1156_SLQF_2016_en.pdf
- HEC, documents attested ↗https://www.hec.gov.pk/english/services/students/DAS/Pages/Documents-Attested.aspx
- High Commission of Sri Lanka in Islamabad, authentication of documents ↗https://www.slhcpakistan.org/services/authentication-of-documents/
- High Commission of Sri Lanka in Islamabad, Warning about fake visa ↗https://www.slhcpakistan.org/warning-about-fake-visa/
- Electronic Travel Authorization ↗https://www.eta.gov.lk
- State Bank of Pakistan, Foreign Exchange Manual ↗https://www.sbp.org.pk/laws-regulations/foreign-exchange-manual
- Ministry of Higher Education Progress Report 2024 ↗https://www.mohe.gov.lk/images/pdf/Progress_Report_2024_Eng.pdf
